

# **Audit Bureau Of Circulations**

Wakefield House, Sprott Road, Ballard Estate, Mumbai 400 001

Tel: +91 22 2261 18 12 | 2261 90 72

CIN: U24999MH1948NPL006309

18th October, 2024

## CIRCULAR

#### SUB COMMITTEES OF THE COUNCIL FOR THE YEAR 2024-2025

The following Sub-Committees of the Council have been formed for the year 2024-2025:

### A. BUREAU'S EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE:

- Supervise the day to day functioning of the Bureau within the broad policies laid down by the Council.
  - Mr. Riyad Mathew, Chairman
  - Mr. Karunesh Bajaj, Dy Chairman
  - Mr. Vikram Sakhuja, Hon. Treasurer
  - > Mr. Mohit Jain, Hon. Secretary

#### **B. SPECIAL COMMITTEE:**

- To consider, advice and recommend to the Council changes in rules and guidelines and provide clarifications on the existing guidelines whenever required.
- Recommend solutions on important issues pertaining to certification of circulation figures.
- To be consulted by the Secretariat in such cases where clarifications/ interpretation of an existing rule by the Secretariat is not acceptable to a member.
- To recommend areas for training of publisher members staff and auditors.
- To consider any question as to the interpretation or application of a bye-law or rules
  of the Bureau.
  - Mr. Riyad Mathew, Chairman
  - Mr. Karunesh Bajaj, Dy Chairman
  - Mr. Mohit Jain
  - > Mr. Praveen Someshwar
  - Mr. Dhruba Mukherjee
  - Mr. Girish Agarwal
  - Mr. Aniruddha Haldar
  - Mr. Pratap Pawar

#### C. BUREAU'S AUDIT COMMITTEE:

- To consider member publications to be put through surprise checks by appointed audit firms (including forensic auditors) and / or Bureau's Officials and / or any other competent person.
- To consider results of Bureau audits.
- To decide on Bureau audits in cases of complaints / issues which are brought to the notice requiring immediate action by the Bureau.
- To decide on forensic audits in appropriate cases.
- To consider circulation figures of member publications in special cases which are referred to by the Secretariat before issue of ABC certificate.
- To keep in abeyance audited circulation figures submitted by a publisher member pending further investigation / correspondence / Bureau audit etc., till such time the matter is finally decided.
- To consider publications for Bureau audits due to abnormal increase in circulation figures, new admissions seeking membership and publications which were not certified for any reason in the preceding audit period.

## (only non publisher members)

- Mr. Karunesh Bajaj, Dy Chairman
- Mr. Vikram Sakhuja
- Mr. Aniruddha Haldar
- Mr. Srinivasan K. Swamy

Additional Council members on case to case basis.

#### D. REVIEW COMMITTEE:

- To review cases of Bureau's Audits where Bureau Auditor's observations and their conclusions are not accepted by publisher member.
- All such cases which involves a dispute between a publisher and the Bureau pertaining to certification of circulation figures.
- Review committee may provide an opportunity to the aggrieved publisher member to present their point of view in the matter.

- The decision of the review committee will then be placed before the Bureau's Council of Management for its further consideration.
  - Mr. Riyad Mathew, Chairman
  - > Mr. Mohit Jain
  - Mr. Pratap G. Pawar
  - Mr. Praveen Someshwar
  - Mr. Prasanth Kumar
  - Mr. Dhruba Mukherjee
  - Mr. Girish Agarwal

#### E. DISCIPLINARY COMMITTEE

- To consider complaints received from publisher members regarding violation of Bureau's Code for Publicity
- To consider responses received from publisher members pertaining to violation of Bureau's Code for Publicity.
- To consider appropriate penal action on publisher members who violate Bureau's Code for Publicity.
- To suggest suitable amendments to the provisions of Bureau's Code for Publicity as and when deem appropriate.
- In very serious cases of continuous non-adherence to Bureau's Code for Publicity to suggest strong action on erring publisher members in light of the provisions contained in Bureau's Articles of Association.
- Any other matter concerning provisions of Bureau's Code for Publicity.
  - Mr. Riyad Mathew, Chairman
  - Mr. Karunesh Bajaj, Dy Chairman
  - Mr. Vikram Sakhuja
  - Mr. Srinivasan K Swamy
  - Mr. Praveen Someshwar
  - Mr. Dhruba Mukherjee
  - Mr. Mohit Jain
  - Mr. Girish Agarwqal

(As and when competing publications are involved, concerned publisher Council member would be excluded on a case to case basis)