

Audit Bureau Of Circulations

Founder Member : International Federation of Audit Bureaux of Circulations Wakefield House, Sprott Road, Ballard Estate, Mumbai − 400 001 Tel: 2261 18 12 / 2261 90 72 . ● Fax: 2261 88 21

 $E\text{-mail}: \underline{\textbf{abcindia@vsnl.com}} \quad \bullet \quad Web \ Site: httpp://www.auditbureau.org$

CONFIDENTIAL
[For information of Members only]
Not to be reproduced or publicised

25th September, 2008

TO, ALL MEMBERS

CIRCULAR

Consequent to election / re-election of Council Members at the Bureau's 60th Annual General Meeting, the new Council of Management as constituted for the year 2008-09 is as under:

A) Council of Management

Office Bearers

Chairman:	Mr. Ch. Kiron	Ushodaya Enterprises Ltd.	Hyderabad
Dy. Chairman:	Mr. Subroto Chattopadhyay	RPG Enterprises	Kolkata
Hony. Secretary:	Mr. Shashidhar Sinha	McCann Erickson (India) P. Ltd.	Mumbai
Hony. Treasurer:	Mr. Sam Balsara	Madison Communications Pvt. Ltd.	Mumbai

Members: Publishers

Mr. Vijay Darda	Lokmat Newspapers Pvt. Ltd.	Nagpur
Mr. Ravi Dhariwal	Bennett, Coleman & Co. Ltd.	New Delhi
Mr. T. Venkattram Reddy	Deccan Chronicle Holdings Ltd.	Secunderabad
Mr. Shailesh Gupta	Jagran Prakashan Ltd.	Kanpur

Mr. Amitabha Datta ABP Pvt. Ltd., Kolkata
Mr. M. Venkatesh HT Media Ltd. New Delhi

Mr. Amit Mathew Malayala Manorama Co. Ltd. Kottayam

Advertising Agencies

Mr. Anil Kapoor DraftFCB + Ulka Advertising Ltd. Mumbai

Mr. Madhukar Kamath Mudra Communications Pvt. Ltd. Mumbai

Advertisers

Mr. Romit Chaterji Tata Services Ltd. Mumbai

Ms. Paulomi Dhawan Raymond Ltd. Mumbai

Mr. S.M. Ahmad ITC Limited Kolkata

Bureau's Executive Committee and other sub-committees of the Council have been reconstituted as under:

B) Bureau's Executive Committee:

• Mr. Ch. Kiron : Chairman

Mr. Subroto Chattopadhyay
 Mr. Shashidhar Sinha
 Mr. Sam Balsara
 Deputy Chairman
 Hony. Secretary
 Hony. Treasurer

Mr. Vijay Darda : MemberMr. Romit Chaterji : Member

C) Other sub-committees of the Council:

I) SPECIAL COMMITTEE:

> To be consulted for any clarification / interpretation of an existing rule.

➤ To advice and recommend to the Council any changes in the Bureau's audit guidelines.

Composition Selected Council Members and Bureau Auditors.

- Mr. Ch. Kiron
- Mr. Subroto Chattopadhyay
- Mr. Shashidhar Sinha
- Mr. Sam Balsara
- Mr. Ravi Dhariwal
- Mr. Amitabha Datta
- Mr. Romit Chaterji
- Mr. M. Venkatesh

Sr. Bureau Auditors:

- Mr. N. Jayendran Natvarlal Vepari & Co.
- Mr. K.N. Gupta Thakur, Vaidyanath Aiyar & Co.
- Mr. Sanjiv Gupta S.P. Chopra & Co.

II) AUDIT COMMITTEE:

- To consider putting publications thru recheck, routine surprise check audits
- > To consider results of surprise check and recheck audits
- To consider circulation figures of publications which show substantial variation in circulation

Composition : Four Non-Publisher Council Members

- Mr. Subroto Chattopadhyay
- Mr. Shashidhar Sinha
- Mr. Sam Balsara
- Mr. Romit Chaterji

III) REVIEW COMMITTEE:

To review cases of disagreements between publisher and Bureau specially concerning Bureau's audit guidelines.

Composition: 4 Non Publisher Council Members plus Sr. Bureau

Auditors & Bureau's Solicitors.

- Mr. Subroto Chattopadhyay
- Mr. Shashidhar Sinha
- Mr. Sam Balsara
- Mr. Romit Chaterji

Sr. Bureau Auditors: (*)

- Mr. N. Jayendran Natvarlal Vepari & Co.
- Mr. K.N. Gupta Thakur, Vaidyanath Aiyar & Co.
- Mr. Sanjiv Gupta S.P. Chopra & Co.

[* If any of the Bureau Auditors have carried out the Bureau's assignment which is the subject of discussion, then the said Bureau Auditor would not form part of the Review Committee for that particular case]

Bureau's Solicitors:

Representative of M/s. Mulla & Mulla & Craigie Blunt & Caroe.

IV) DISCIPLINARY COMMITTEE:

- To consider cases of violation of Bureau's Code for Publicity by members.
 - Mr. Ch Kiron
 - Mr. Subroto Chattopadhyay
 - Mr. Shashidhar Sinha
 - Mr. Sam Balsara
 - Mr. Romit Chaterji

V) MEMBERSHIP COMMITTEE:

- > To consider applications received for Bureau membership.
- To enroll more members to Bureau membership
 - Mr. Ch Kiron
 - Mr. Subroto Chattopadhyay
 - Mr. Sam Balsara
 - Mr. Vijay Darda
 - Mr. Ravi Dhariwal
 - Mr. S.M. Ahmad

D) ABC NOMINEES ON THE NRS COUNCIL

- Mr. Ch Kiron
- Mr. Anil Kapoor
- Mr. Amitabha Datta
- Mr. S.M. Ahmad

Sd/-Secretary General